A place about everything and nothing

Mercy for the Weak


The taste of hot metal was all I think about… I sputtered something but I choked…

The smell of ash and… something burning? Smells like meat… Charred meat…. Oh god… no…

The darkness was suffocating, I tried to move my arm but it hurts so much… It is like the world was pressing on me…

The sound of crunching rocks? I hear heavy footsteps and garbled voices…

Oh god oh god oh god… I can hear roar of large-bore weapons and the clink of expanded shells contacting the rock… They are so close… so close…

I cannot forget the sounds. The sounds of flesh popping with a muted explosion… The sickly wet explosion… What terrifies me most was my rampant imagination… My friends are dying over and over again in hails of explosive bullets. Their bodies torn asunder by mass reactive shells as it penetrates their skin and explodes inside…

Oh god please save me…

The sound of digging roused me from my torpor… I’m too weak to even cry for help… How long has it been? Days? Weeks? I don’t know anything anymore…

They found me! My friends! I did not know them but they were friends… They wore the same uniform… bore the same scars… They were my friends…

Two days since I was dug out of the collapsed bunker. They fed and clothed me, I was pushed once more into active service… I had a chance to look at my home… what was my home… Ashes, everything was ash… tangled metal jutted out from the ground. The only reminder that there was once a home there, once a life. The ground was craters and glass… ash and ruin… That is all there is left ash and ruin…

Forth day since my rescue, we were dug in and ready for a fight… and then they were there… terrible monsters they were… taller than a man and as large as two men side to side… Their midnight black armor glittered with gore… Their terrible pair of emerald eyes see everything. Scanning for perceived threats…

From their grilled mouth orders were given, their guns were raised… Some held macabre instruments of death… Swords made of whirling teeth… they were as loud as they were brutal. Cutting through flesh and bone as rows upon rows of razors eat into you… Others had fist the size of heads and it was wreathed in lightning… what manner of demons are they to command such powers…

They advanced, and we respond… we fired out weapons… out slugs bounced off their skin of metal as they advanced… they were relentless… they are unstoppable… we are doomed… our world is doomed…

They are upon us… I’m hid amongst the bodies of my comrades… I don’t want to die… Oh god please I don’t want to die…

I can hear their whirling blades of teeth and muted explosions… I dared open my eyes and the horror I saw… Man died in the scores as this… this ornate monster descended from the sky… A golden eagle emblazoned upon its chest and it wore the mask of death itself, it wore the skull of man…

There was another… he wielded a blade that cackled with lightning and with each swing, limbs and weapons flew. The flesh was butter and his blade a heated knife…

Over sized fists blew holes through man while flame throwers scorched the earth of survivors… i don’t want to drive…

Sergent! We have a survivor

A gauntleted fist grabbed me by my arm and wrenched me from the bodies.

Hiding with the bodies, it disgust me.

Stay your hand Battle Brother, I shall inspect this one myself

Do you understand me, nativee?”

Yes… Who are you? What are you?

I am the Emperor’s angels of death and I am here to meet out his judgment

Why! Who is this emperor? Why? WHY? We have done nothing! NOTHING!

Your lords have rejected the light of the Emperor, you are collateral, I am sorry

You are monsters! Clad in your ebony skin your wage war upon a world who wish nothing of you but to be left alone!

Monster? Perhaps we are… But we are all that stands between the darkness that would consume humanity and if humanity cannot stand united under the Emperor’s guidance then we are destined for extinction

We are already dead! Look around you! My world is gone, we are already extinct…

Moisture streaked down my cheeks as it sunk in, my people, my family, my sons… They were no more. And in the Angle of Death’s emerald eyes I saw myself. Two streaks of skin, exposed by my tears against dried blood and soot… My face was a mask of serenity, never had I seen such dignity and poise. And it was then I understood…

I shame myself by hiding. But I’ll hide no more! You come to our world and burn it but know this! We will not be so easily quashed our spirits are eternal! You may smash our monuments and grind our bones but we will forever defy you! We are humanity! Proud and free of oppressors!! We will not bow down to anyone!

I am… Surprised… Such fire… Such spirit… Such naivety. If only your world would have complied, we could make a battle brother out of you. But alas, to leave your world unchecked is to leave the door to corruption wide open

Before I am tossed into the pyre what are you really?

I am a Space Marine, human. Farewell, may the Emperor guard your soul

Pain lanced through my chest as I convulsed in pain. My senses dimmed and my strength left me… The cackling of energy was all that is left as war wages on.

There is only war. And war, war never changes… But the spirit endures…

The spirit endures…

One response

  1. Jordan Phillips

    That was so deep… I loved the apocalyptical setting. You sir/ma’am, are the best writer I have ever encountered. I literally felt myself in the story. It was so real and the reactions were precise. Keep it up.

    November 25, 2012 at 11:29 AM

Leave a Reply

