A place about everything and nothing

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World


Another comic to movie adaptation ahoy! That’s right folks, come October 28th, Scott Pilgrim vs The World will hit the big screen here in the sunny side of Singapore.
For the benefit of those who are blessedly unaware, Scott Pilgrim was originally a comic book series by Bryan Lee O’Malley. It is about, well one loser-ish  dude trying to win the love of his life and to do this, he has to defeat seven evil ex-boyfriends.
Honestly, I didn’t really like the comic. *Even now I can hear them, the angry mob of fanboys/girls with their pitchfork and torches as I utter those words.* But hey, it is a free world and I’ll say what I want. The art style is well, kinda meh. I know, I know, it is shallow of me to look at it that way but… It is just kinda hard to get around it. The storyline… well the almost oppressive hormonal neediness just kinda put it off for me. I’m just not a huge fan of RomComs *Abbreviation for Romantic Comedies* I guess, or any other romance themed story in general. Well, it is still interesting enough for me to not put down the book, so sue me. And I admit it… I find it kinda funny and endearing.
Anyhoo, the only reason why I am even remotely interested in the movie adaptation is the fact that Edgar Wright is directing it. Who is this Edgar Wright I speak of? Only the brilliant director who gave us Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead and Spaced. And there is of course Michael Cera, no offense to Mister Cera but with him playing the loser role, you can’t go wrong. So lets see how Scott Pilgrim will do against the World’s critics.
One response

  1. Pingback: scott pilgrim avatar « Bat Fan Diaries

Leave a Reply

